Skip to content

What Do Women Assume About Men?

January 25, 2010

Part I of this post can be found here. After each question, you’ll see what Lauren thought my answer would be in pink (because she’s a girl and girls have to like pink by federal law), and my actual answer in blue.

1. Assuming no mapping technology (internet, GPS, etc.), what do you do when you get lost?

Stop immediately and ask for directions, so as not to waste time or go out of the way.

Get naked and run down the street screaming. Or, if I don’t panic, I call my girlfriend.

2.  How many times per year do you cry?

Ten. Jamey seems to have a sensitive side, and ten is a little under once a month.  Totally just a guess.

I’m a huge crier at sappy, emotional things. I see a lot of movies and cry at least once a movie on average, so probably about 40 times a year.

“Sensitive” is a bit of an understatement. Well, when it comes to watching movies. I think I teared up twice while watching Invincible the other day. And then I went to try out for the Rams.

Lauren guess for me exactly what I guessed for her.

3.  What is your pet peeve about the opposite gender?

Women are too emotionally charged.

Women who make assumptions and hide their true intentions.

4.  TV on at bedtime or no?

No.  I bet Jamey reads before lights out and then it’s off to dreamland.

Never! I don’t want a television in the bedroom.

Perfect. Well done, Lauren.

5.  Would you rather receive a sentimental/thoughtful gift, expensive gift or a practical gift?

Practical gift.

Practical.

6.  Would you rather have fun or save money?

Save money.

I don’t necessarily see the two contradicting one another. I can be frugal, but I like to retain money for “big fun,” like trips and adventures. I can usually be convinced to order a “fun” meal instead of eating what we had planned.

7.  How many minutes per day do you spend getting ready?

25, including a shower.

It takes me about 35 minutes to go to the bathroom, shave, shower, dry, go to the bathroom again, get dressed, and do hair/deodorant. I eat breakfast at work and brush teeth afterwards. It’s a precise regimen that cannot be interrupted by woman nor beast.

8.  Assuming you lived within 20 minutes of your parents, how often would you visit them?

Once a month.

Once a month. Maybe more for little things.

Wow, Lauren batted .500 today! Now click over to Lauren’s blog to see if I know anything about women (specifically, Lauren).

What types of assumptions do you make about women or men? What types of assumptions do people make about you? What are your answers to these questions?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 10:41 pm

    I stole your engaging questions at the end of your post. Hope you don’t mind. At least I’m acknowledging it…

  2. January 26, 2010 10:30 am

    My answers…

    #1- Stop and ask for directions.

    #2- About 25. At least twice a month. And if I watched more movies the number would be higher.

    #3- Men who are not respectful to other people.

    #4- Never

    #5- Sentimental/thoughtful

    #6- Both. I love to have fun but value saving for both trips and the unexpected.

    #7- Week day, about 45
    Weekend, about 10
    If I want to look cute, an hour or so

    #8- I do live within 20 minutes of my mom and see her at least once a week. Sometimes more.

    • January 26, 2010 10:33 am

      Great post, by the way!! I loved both of them. 🙂

    • January 26, 2010 10:40 am

      Thanks, Penelope! I like your answer to #3.

      Let’s see some more answers! I’m curious to see if there are any gender-based patterns that arise.

  3. Kai permalink
    January 26, 2010 5:39 pm

    1 – If my cell phone is being good and I’m in St. Louis, I call my mom or someone with a sense of direction. Otherwise, I’ll stop at a not-creepy place and ask for directions.

    2- I hate crying and will try to hold back tears. This past year I cried maybe 8 times because of certain family events.

    3- Too many to list, but I’ll mention one. Men who cannot aim, drip around the toilet bowl and not clean it up. Men and bathrooms don’t mix. Better with a bush.

    4- Sometimes. I regret having a tv with cable in my room. I’m such a tv addict and it attracts an unwanted guest at night, aka my brother.

    5- I like all kinds of gifts. They are already thoughtful since the gifter thought of giving you a gift. So practical is the next best thing.

    6- I like to save money. Things I like to do and buy are expensive. It will take some time to go from save money to fun money.

    7-
    15 minutes to look okay to see people
    30 minutes to look good and knowing what I want to wear
    1 hour to look real good for special occasions or if I don’t know what to wear

    8- Maybe twice a month. Currently, I live within two seconds of my parents.

Leave a Reply

