Skip to content

Women: What’s Your Favorite Cologne?

January 16, 2010
tags:

Please post a comment with your favorite cologne. Help us men know how you want us to smell.

You can also check out my post on how I want you women to smell.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Dionne permalink
    January 16, 2010 7:14 pm

    I love men who wear Agua De Gio (sp?) and Dolce and Gabana. It does…things…to me;)

  2. krw permalink
    January 16, 2010 7:35 pm

    I love the cologne my boyfriend wears (who doesn’t love the smell of her man?)–don’t know what it’s called, though!

    On perfumes, how do you know you love Angel by Thierry? Either 1) your ex-girl wore it, 2) your sister or mom wears it, or 3) you like to spend a lot of time in the women’s department at Macy’s.

    • January 16, 2010 7:40 pm

      Find out what he wears! 🙂

      You know, I can’t remember exactly how I found out how Angel smells. I think one of my college girlfriends wore it, and I got hooked. Or I may have smelled it somewhere and then bought it for my college girlfriend. I really can’t remember. All I know is that it has an impact on me so powerful and profound that it will literally stop me in my tracks if I smell it. It has the capability of transforming an unattractive woman to an attractive one in a single whiff. I have never actually followed around a woman because of Angel, but I’ve had to fight ever impulse in my body not to do so. I have even considered buying it to put on my cat so I could smell it all the time, but I really don’t want to get to the point where I think of my cat when I smell Angel on a woman. Or vice versa.

      • krw permalink
        January 16, 2010 8:56 pm

        It’s Chanel.

        Ok… as long as it doesn’t make you think of your ex every time you smell it… 🙂

  3. kara dean permalink
    January 16, 2010 7:58 pm

    Acqua Di Gio for me too!!! Mmm! Delicious!

  4. January 16, 2010 8:25 pm

    Women have an olfactory sense about 5 times more powerful than a man’s. I think that’s why, when men use cologne, they often put on too much. The risk is high enough, and my tolerance for strong smells low enough, that I typically prefer men not to wear cologne. On the other hand, I always love to lean a little closer to a truly clean-smelling guy. So, for me, the scents of soap, shampoo and an effective deodorant/antiperspirant are enough to do the trick.

  5. Katie Baker permalink
    January 17, 2010 1:00 am

    I bought my man some Bvlgari- that totally does it for me!

  6. Kai permalink
    January 17, 2010 1:02 am

    Good question. I don’t have a favorite. I like Fahrenheit but that’s my Dad’s smell. I like a refreshing, clean smell with a touch of cologne or after shave on a guy. Otherwise, I’ll be coughing and gasping for air while a cologne soaked guy standing three feet away from me. Just out of curiosity, what makes you think of this question?

    A side note to all dudes out there, wearing too much cologne equals wearing ladies repellent.

    • January 17, 2010 4:48 pm

      What made me ask this question? Curiosity, mostly. All I usually wear on any give day is Old Spice Pure Sport deodorant. I dab on some Aqua di Gio aftershave for special occasions–nights out, weddings, Papa John’s delivery, etc.

  7. Ashlyn permalink
    January 17, 2010 11:48 am

    You’re gonna laugh but “Heir” by Paris Hilton smells amazing. I actually stopped a guy in a club one time because he walked by me and smelled so good so I had to ask what he was wearing. He was really embarrassed to tell me it was Paris Hilton’s men’s cologne. I bought a bottle for my BF afterwards. It smells so good!
    Other faves are Aqua Di Gio and Romance (Ralph Lauren).

    • January 17, 2010 4:46 pm

      When I think “Paris Hilton,” I think, “I want to smell how Paris wants men to smell.” (okay, not really). But that’s interesting that the smell stood out so much that you stopped the guy.

      I need to get samples of all of these to see what I like. Is there a place online where you can just get little samples? I probably have a few months left of Aqua di Gio. Although, several women above have mentioned Aqua di Gio as a favorite.

      • T-Mac permalink
        January 18, 2010 12:35 am

        Jaam,

        The one problem is that women I’ve polled don’t go crazy for Aqua di Gio aftershave…just the cologne. I don’t know what it is about the cologne, but it seems that more than half of women love it.

        • January 18, 2010 12:37 am

          Really? Women, is that true? If so, that sucks. My ex kept the cologne and left me with the aftershave. It all makes sense now…

        • Red permalink
          January 19, 2010 5:49 pm

          Looks like Auqa D by a long shot, which is what I got for Christmas. I got this advice from a friend (Katie F) like 3 years ago, and I’m thrilled that it still holds true!

Trackbacks

  1. Confession #10: The Smelling Circle « Jamey Stegmaier's Blog

Leave a Reply

