Skip to content

The Great Debate

January 28, 2009

Today has been the greatest day in the history of this blog, by far. Over the last 12 hours, I’ve had over a thousand hits, and currently about 230 people have voted for who they think is the Hottest Animated Disney Female. I assume many of those people will stick around until noon tomorrow (Thursday, CST) to see who wins. So although I thought about writing an entry completely unrelated to the poll to give any new readers a good idea of what this blog’s about, really all I can think/write about is the poll.

I knew it was an important debate, but I didn’t know people were so passionate about the subject. I’ve had numerous people tell me that Jessica Rabbit should be in the mix, but my reason for excluding her is clear: Although animated, she exists in a non-animated world, and therefore should not count. Plus, she is drawn more like a “real” woman than any of the other contestants, so it’s like comparing apples to boobs.

As the debate heated up, two woman have emerged as the clear frontrunners: Ariel and Jasmine. And let’s just get this out of the wayt: They’re both young. They’re both teenagers. Sure, it’s creepy to be calling them “hot,” but they’re also not real. This isn’t like we’re saying that that Lilo (or Stitch, whichever one is the girl) is hot. These contestants aren’t little girls anymore.

We have 12.5 hours left before the winner is declared. Feel free to petition your favorite to anyone who cares. I will say, it’s quite possible the current votes are skewed. There was a period of about 10 minutes today when Ariel’s votes rapidly went up with no votes going to anyone else. It seemed like someone was fixing the vote. Although I’m on Team Ariel, I can assure you that it wasn’t me. Given this, I give anyone on Team Jasmine the permission to cheat a little by voting on multiple computers. That should even it out. Everyone else just gets one vote.

So, who’s it going to be?

disney-ariel1disney-jasmine1

 

 

 

or

 

 

 

(Or, possibly dark-horse candidate Pocahontas, who has the hippy vote.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Patrick permalink
    January 29, 2009 8:48 am

    I would argue that Jessica Rabbit is just as removed from “real” as any of the other contestants, and more so than Pocahontas.

    I would still love somebody to explain the lack of support for Belle. What does everybody see in a bratty, insecure half-fish and a spoiled princess anyway? Give me the normal girl who likes to read.

  2. Alice permalink
    January 29, 2009 10:41 am

    I contend that the staggering Ariel victory partially attributable to a significant immediate jump may have been very related to my 600+ eyeball post on Facebook in favor of Ariel – the jump came right around the time I petitioned for help to 600 of my closest friends.

    It’s not cheating to be popular. Or to have very loyal friends.

    Letting Mark Zuckerberg do my dirty work,
    Alice

Leave a Reply

