Skip to content

Seven: The Movie, and America

February 27, 2008

I watched the movie Seven the other day for maybe the second or third time. It’s been a while, though, and I had forgotten what a good movie it was. I’ll admit that I feel odd writing that, since it’s a movie about a serial killer. I think perhaps what’s so enrapturing about it is the conflict inside the viewer about the murders. You see the morbidly (and fatally) obese guy sitting in a pile of feces and spaghetti, and you think “he really shouldn’t have gotten that fat” at the same time that you’re feeling sorry for his grotesque fate. And one by one, you wonder how the killer is going to get his next victim. Who will he choose for greed, and how will he punish that person? What about lust? How will I feel once I see it?

After finishing the movie, I realized that I really need to watch David Fincher’s latest movie, Zodiac. After all, Fight Club is my absolute favorite movie of all time, and Seven is really good—why eschew Zodiac? I must admit that the running time is a bit of a deterrent, but that shouldn’t stop me. I’ll get on that.

But for now, I’m entertaining myself by playing around with Forbes’ interactive map of the “Most Sinful Cities” in the U.S. Check it out—it’s quick and easy to use. Naturally, the sins are the seven deadlies, lust, gluttony, avarice (greed), sloth, wrath, envy, and pride.

I’m happy to report that St. Louis only made one of the top ten lists for sins: naturally, our wrath index (due to crime) is pretty high. As for personal wrath, I’m not an angry man. In fact, I’d list “sloth” as my greatest sin. I’m often content to stay at home and write instead of going out to socialize, sometimes due to the ease of staying in. I’m fine with appealing to my introverted half, but I shouldn’t do so just because it’s easy. I’ll work on that.

Tomorrow:

Lost! I Hope It’s a Good One

3 Comments leave one →
  1. ben permalink
    February 28, 2008 12:20 pm

    Dude! Definately check out Zodiac. The plot and acting are solid. It tells a great story straight up.

  2. Bob permalink
    March 1, 2008 1:34 am

    I second Ben’s endorsement of Zodiac. It’s one of the better movies I’ve seen in the past few years, and though I don’t remember exactly since I haven’t seen it since it was out in the theaters, I don’t recall that the movie felt like it dragged.

  3. aquavator permalink
    March 1, 2008 12:50 pm

    Fight Club is really your all-time favorite? I had no idea.

    Anyway, I agree with the other two comments. Zodiac was really good. The length of the movie actually ties in with the theme; a movie about obsession should be obsessive itself.

Leave a Reply

